The Serafina Series by Robert Beatty

S61uD+4Tts4L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_tella here! I wanted to do a short post — probably all of my posts are going to be short, because, let’s be honest, we all have attention disorders and don’t want to read much, amIright???– yes, a short post about a series I have been reading called The Serafina Series written by Robert Beatty. I came upon this series while I was in a Barnes and Nobel in NYC and was intrigued by the cover and blurb about the book.

While I do recommend all three books that are published, I most recently finished Serafina and the Splintered Heart. The series takes place at and around the Biltmore Estate during the height of the Gilded Age. Among the majority of author-original characters, you will find yourself familiar with the Vanderbilts and others that were present during that time.

The series continues to be a fun read with dark turns and suspense. The genre is fantasy with historical aspects sprinkled in. The heroes – Serafina and Braeden – are twelve years old, but don’t let that fool you! The vocabulary throughout the novel and the decisions and actions of the characters speak to their wisdom. They also encounter fierce and unforgiving villains which darkens the tone of the novels.

You should read this book if you:

  1. Enjoy fantasy with some historical aspects
  2. Enjoy characters with a strong sense of right and wrong
  3. Enjoy characters that are devoted to family, friendship and loyalty
  4. Enjoy animals

ex animo,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s